Skip to content

Happy Holidays…Here’s Your Property Tax Bill!

December 5, 2007
tags:

It’s amazing that along with all the “good cheer” for the holidays it always seems to be dampened by the receipt of the annual property tax bills.  Ho Ho Ho,  now write us a BIG CHECK.

 I ran into an interesting situation this past year in dealing with the city of Sun Prairie.  In late spring when the new property tax assessments usually come out, I was waiting for my assessment to arrive on a property I owned in Sun Prairie.  I was trying to sell the home and I then had it priced $30,000 below the previous years’ assessment. 

I received an offer on the home in June but still no notice of the new tax assessment.  When the city was contacted I was told I would have only been notified if there was a change in the assessment.  Otherwise I had missed the deadline for protested what the city said my house was worth vs. what the current market dictated. 

Guy Lofts posted a great insight to all this on his blog.  You can click it here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 7, 2007 3:37 am

    Darren, thanks for visiting my site and thanks for the plug.
    It will soon be time to challenge assessments.
    Guy

Leave a Reply

