Skip to content

Voting Early, Stand in Line

October 28, 2008

Yesterday I decided to “beat the rush” at the polls on November 4 and head over to the City/County building and vote absentee.  When I walked into the lobby of the building I saw a line that snaked from the city clerks office around 2 sets of staircases to a back hall.  There must have been 60 people ahead of me.

Assuming the line would move fairly fast, I found the end and got in line.  I stood there for about 5 minutes and realized the line hadn’t moved at all.  I decided to leave and find a better time to do this.

I see in today’s Wisconsin State Journal that the average wait time has been 1 hour.  In an attempt to ease that wait the city clerk’s office is extended it’s hours for the remainder of the week.  New hours are 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. today through Thursday; 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Friday and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday. 

If you want to verify that you have been registered to vote visit http://vpa.wi.gov .  Once you give your name and full birthdate you can verify that your registration status is “active” and where you’re polling place will be come next Tuesday.

Think I’ll head to the CCB to be first in line this morning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

