Skip to content

Madison and Jobs…Unemployment Rate on the Decline

February 3, 2011

Last week I attended the OPEN Annual Dinner at the Concourse Hotel.   Mayor Dave was there and spoke briefly about unemployment rate in the city of Madison.  I believe he stated it has dropped below 4%.  That number jumped out to me as national unemployment is still hovering just over 9.0% according to the U.S. Department of Labor latest press release.

Does unemployment rates at less than 1/2 the U.S. average mean Madison is moving into an economic recovery?  I certainly hope so.  What does that mean for the local economy and housing markets?  Will 2011 be the turnaround year in both these sectors?

I found an interesting graph on Forbes.com this morning I thought I’d share with everyone.  Here’s the link.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

